Motherhood · Pregnancy

What was in my hospital bag?

Or…what wasn’t in my hospital bag, that should be the question. As a first time Mum everyone and their aunt was telling me what to take. And everyone will tell you too. But when it comes down to it, I’m pushing a melon out of my region and I will take whatever the hell I like.

So I did:

Three night dresses
Slippers/fluffy socks
Flip flops for the shower
Two nursing bras
6 BLACK knickers
Pack of disposable knickers (THAT I DIDN’T USE!)
Going home outfit
Toiletries
Bath and hair towel
Earphones
Lip balm
Face/body wipes
Breast pads
Maternity pads
Incontinence/adult pants
Hand held fan
Phone charger
Cooling mist
Snacks (mainly for Matthew because it was a ‘long day’ apparently)
Camera
Money for the hospital car park
Maternity notes

The black knickers are important, for obvious reasons, and a dark coloured towel too. I was bought disposable knickers (lovely I know!) but I decided that after pushing human life out of me, I deserved real knickers. Giant knickers but real.

I was told to take makeup in too. Like f**k. Do people honestly believe that I would be concerned about applying my concealer, and drawing on my eyebrows, that NEVER match!?!?!? Unless you’re already a super together Mum, tell them to shove the foundation up their special place.

If I’ve learnt anything from packing and repacking my bag a hundred times is – don’t let anyone tell you what to take. You need to feel as comfortable as possible and only you know what that entails.

Let people have their say and their opinion, and then leave the paper knickers at home. You’re already a super frigging human and you pack whatever you bloody well like!

Love, Aimee X

Leave a comment